Sara Groves is still my favorite artist

Sara Groves is still my favorite artist. Her new album entitled Tell Me What You Know is really growing on me. BTW, thanks to my ONE FRIENDS JIM for the Christmas present. The more I listen to it, the more I like it. It is a bit mellow, even for her, but there are a couple of upbeat songs that could be considered breakthrough songs. Every time she tries a new style, it winds up being a phenomenal song. I wasn’t a bit surprised when I saw that Charlie Peacock helped write In The Girl There’s A Room. He was the one who helped with The Boxer which was a breakthrough song on her album The Other Side of Something.

Sara Groves’ strength in her music is in sharing from the heart. Some of her music is like sitting down in someone’s living room and listening to them share their life’s stories. Windows to the soul are opened up as her thought filled lyrics match up with intimate melodies. I believe her signature song is All Right Here which captures the heart of how she shares her stories with us. This album is no different. Read selected clips from the lyrics of each song on the album. Reading these words arranged like this seems to tell another story altogether.

 

This is a song for you to carry in your pocket
take all our love with you in all the paths you walk in
I can’t say your life will always go like it should
but I can say that God is always good
and when the cold wind blows like I know it will
and when you feel alone like I know you will
Don’t let your love grow cold

 

Did you ever need a song that’s soft and low

Did you ever need to take account

Of all you’ve found, what’s true or not

Did you ever need to bear your soul

To be truly known by a loving God

Oh to take off your skin and start over again

Or to lay on your back and cry

The kind that leaves you puffy eyed

Weighted with strange peace inside

The kind that leaves you heavy sighing

The kind that comes to wash your soul

Scrub you clean and leave you whole

 

Here in the stillness
where thoughts are born
here in our frailty we’re tattered and torn
here in confession
here in our mess here in the place where we’re mostly undressed

 

I saw what I saw and I can’t forget it
I heard what I heard and I can’t go back
I know what I know and I can’t deny it
Your pain has changed me
your dream inspires
your face a memory
your hope a fire
your courage asks me what I’m afraid of
and what I know of love

 

Hope has a way of turning it’s face to you
just when you least expect it
you walk in a room
you look out a window
and something there leaves you breathless

 

In the girl there’s a room
In the room there’s a table
On the table there’s a candle
and it won’t burn out

In the woman is a song

In the song there is hope

In the hope – revolution
In the boy there’s a voice
In the voice there’s a calling
In the call there’s a promise
and it won’t quiet down
Tell me what you know
About God and the world and the human soul
How so much can be wrong
and still there are songs

 

A million this a million that a mass sum of individuals 
A million here a million there
Made up of a million souls
Who can know the pain the joy the regret the satisfaction
Who can know the love of one life, one heart, one soul
At two you’re at abstraction

 

We walk a while we sit and rest
we lay it on the altar
I won’t pretend to know what’s next
but what I have I’ve offered
I pray for a vision
and a way I cannot see
It’s too heavy to carry
and impossible to leave

 

Childhood runs across the meadow  taken in the night
told that you’ll be working in the city for a while
bearing all the glory  bearing all the weight
knowledge of such hardship at such a tender age

Say a prayer, say a prayer in the night

 

You are wonderful

A friend to the weary
You have been so faithful

Your goodness follows me

 

It’s the beauty in the tales we tell
It’s the pushing through and ending well
and finding strength to give ourselves away
in the midst of passing bravery
in the face of our own injury
It’s the constant generosity of grace
Friend I know your heart is raw
But love is still a worthy cause Picking up and pressing on
It’s the touch that starts the thaw
or the word that breaks the pause
Love is still a worthy cause

 

I see the long quiet walk along the Underground Railroad
I see the slave awakening to the value of her soul
I see the young missionary and the end of the spear
I see his family returning with no trace of fear
I see the long hard shadows of Calcutta nights
I see the sisters standing by the lepers side
I see the young girl huddled on the brothel floor
I see the man with a passion come and kicking down the door
I see the man of sorrows and his long troubled road
I see the world on his shoulders and my easy load
And when I’m weary and overwrought
with so many battles left unfought
I think of Paul and Silas in the prison yard
I hear their song of freedom rising to the stars

 

Sister my heart is breaking

Thinking of your pain

Sister I’m on my knees

Praying for the day of

Freedom

 

Brother my mind is racing

Thinking of a way

Brother how to speak for you

I’m calling for the day of

Freedom

 

Light of day shine down on your face

Light of truth in your heart

Do you know who you are?

 

I’ve prayed for a room in your soul

A space that no man can control

A solace until you are home

Freedom

 

Light of day shine down on your face

Light of truth in your heart

Do you know who you are?

 

I’ve been down on my knees praying

Freedom

Hopefully you see in these lyrics a heart worth listening to. Although I still enjoy her second and third albums more, this one is definitely worth it. Hint, Hint Carmen: try Conversations and All Right Here. Sara Groves is not the end-all for Christian music. Her music is quite inspiring, but there are drawbacks. Sometimes she uses very little lyrical material for a four minute song. On this album, Say a Prayer and You Are Wonderful fall into this category. Sometimes the endings for her songs are drawn out with the chorus being sung in several different ways. Even though Honesty and Freedom are both excellent songs, they tend to be lengthy due to extended endings. I don’t mind a bit on Freedom, which to me has a powerful message, but many may find it laborious.

My favorites on this album are In The Girl There’s A Room, When the Saints (which I can’t sing along without getting choked up), It Might Be Hope, and Freedom which is bonus track on the CD that I have. Despite one review I read that labels the two bonus tracks as drab and dull, I completely disagree. Runners up would include Love Is Still a Worthy Cause, Say A Prayer, and Did You Ever Need A Song, which is the other bonus track.

One other note: Having an iPod is cool, especially when you are a mailman.

Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

-The Orange Mailman

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

