Michael Patton on Progressive Covenantalism

Michael Patton at Parchment and Pen has written a very balanced approach to the whole Dispensational/Covenantal issue.  He has a title for his position, Progressive Covenantalism.  Surprisingly, I thought of that very same term when I "put down a flag" (to borrow his terminology) concerning my position.  I opted for the term "Messianic Kingdom" something or other, but my position contains many of the same ideas that Michael proposes. 
 
I would encourage you to read over his post.  He uses a progressive framework which I do as well.  He begins with the garden of Eden and the Seed-Promise (although he uses the fancy term "protoevangelion") and extends the plan all the way through the new covenant and the millennium.  This is refreshing to see someone who is a premillennialist, but not a dispensationalist in the typical usage of the word, and coming to many of the same conclusions that I am coming to.  It makes me feel like perhaps I’m not all alone in these discoveries in God’s Word.  He does leave out the Noahic Covenant (not too detrimental) but also the Palestinian Covenant which I see as essential to understanding God’s reasoning for continuing his plan for the nation of Israel, which Michael agrees with anyway.
 
The key that caught TC Robinson’s eye was that Michael sees the millennium as a fulfillment of the Abrahamic Covenant.  In light of the promise to Abraham to bless all nations through him, and for his descendants to dwell in the promised land, I quite agree.  TC can’t find the connection.
 
Please take the time to read Michael’s post.  When I am writing about this subject, this is exactly where I am coming from.  His charts make it easy to follow.  Maybe one of these days I’ll get a real blog where I can post fancy charts like that.  Read about it here.
 
Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13
 
-The Orange Mailman
This entry was posted in Eschatology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Michael Patton on Progressive Covenantalism

  1. how shall we love says:

    Reblogged this on A Temporary Life and commented:
    Interesting alternative to Dispenationalism and Covenant Theology.

Leave a Reply

