Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

What’s it all about?
 
On my route I have little quips that I say to people to keep the conversation light.  "Have fun" is one of those things that I’ve grown accustomed to saying to folks as I’m breaking off a conversation with them to continue doing my route.
 
I’ve always enjoyed a paraphrase of Luke 19:13 that I will get to in a minute.  In the parable that Jesus is telling, He is clearing up a misconception that some people thought would happen immediately.  Since the King (Jesus) was present on earth, the kingdom would be appearing quite soon.  They were mistaken and Jesus told this parable to try to clear up that misconception.
 
The "nobleman" in the story represents Jesus.  He is quite important, but hasn’t officially received His kingdom, or authority to reign, over the kingdoms of this world just yet.  He goes into a far country, but leaves some of His servants behind to do some work for the kingdom.  He gives them extremely large amounts of money and basically says, "Stay busy until I get back."
 
That’s where we as Christians are at today.  We are to stay busy about the business of the kingdom until He gets back.  Jesus has given us amazing resources when we consider that each of us has 24 hours every single day to accomplish His work.  We have unique abilities and spiritual gifts that we can turn to the use of the Master.  We have money that passes through our hands throughout each year that goes by.  We have relationships with people that we have the opportunity to turn toward or away from spiritual things.
 
We shouldn’t be busy just for the sake of being busy.  We should be about the business of God’s work.  And it should be fulfilling, rewarding, and joyful.  In other words, we should be having fun and staying busy according to Luke 19:13.  Now you know what I mean when I close each post.
 
Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13
 
-The Orange Mailman
 
P.S.  Since I became a Christian, I’m having the time of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

  1. Kerry says:

    Hey Orange,
     
    Long time glad to hear from you.  I\’ll add this to my favorites and visit from time to time.  Yes pretty plain but very Orange…lol.  Having fun and staying busy!
     
    Peace,
    Seeker

  2. Darrin says:

    Hey, good to hear from you Seeker.  I was keeping tabs with you on FP Discussion Board in reading some of your posts, but not lately.  This site won\’t be completely about Eschatology, but the subject will certainly come up.  If you have any alternate views, feel free.  Hey, that goes for everybody.
     
    Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13
     
    -The Orange Mailman

Leave a Reply

