Prophecy

In my first post, I mentioned that the subject of Prophecy may come up here.  Let me explain what I mean.
 
I really mean Eschatology, but a lot of people do not know what the term means.  When I write "Prophecy", this could be taken many ways.  Some people mistakenly think I am talking about people who "prophesy" nowadays through a variety of means including perhaps spirit guides.  Some people think I study Nostradamus or other things like that.
 
The truth is, when I talk or write about Prophecy, I am referring to the prophecies of the Bible as they were give to men.  I am primarily referring to the interpretations of those prophecies, not any new prophecies being given today.  I study the prophecies in the Bible and try to apply how they will be fulfilled.  It’s sort of like predicting the future based on what these men of God wrote under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit.
 
At my fifteenth year class reunion a couple of years back, I had put on my little sheet that they gave me to write some personal information that eschatology was one of my personal interests.  I had about ten people come up and ask me what the term meant.  The Greek word from which we derive this word is "Eschatos" which means final, or last.  The last days is a term which is used in Hebrews 1:2, Acts 2:17, and II Peter 3:3 just to get you started on your own study of Eschatology.
 
I have posted on several prophecy or end times message boards over the years, sometimes under the name "The Orange Mailman", sometimes under my own name, sometimes under a combination.  I have quite a bit of material saved up on my computer that were posted on these message boards, and I may access them at some time to put on my blog here.  But one step at a time.  You need to understand where I am coming from first.
 
Just like folks misunderstand my use of the word "Prophecy" because they are unfamiliar with the way the Bible sets the subject forth, I don’t want any of my posts to be misunderstood.  So I will attempt to lay the groundwork a little at a time.
 
Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13
 
-The Orange Mailman
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

