Hug a Postal Worker Day?

Today, and I am not making this up, a lady at one of the businesses that I deliver to demonstrated "Hug a Postal Worker Day".
 
The secretary for this place was walking through the aisle of the store back to the front desk as I was walking in.  She put an arm around me as I was setting the mail down in the normal place and said, "Happy Hug a Postman Day!"
 
Uhhhh, really?
 
"Yes, I heard it on the radio.  Now you can walk into the places you’re delivering today and say, ‘Where’s my hug?’"
 
When I got home today, I did an online search, but all I could find was…
 
Neither Rain Nor Snow Day–September 7
  • Have you hugged your postal worker today?

…and…

January 24th: Have you hugged a postal worker today?  Why?

This lady has only worked there for a couple of months and I don’t even know her name.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yesterday, and I am not making this up, I walked into a public alternative educational school in the afternoon to use it for a bathroom break.  I asked the secretary if things were running smooth.  She replied, "Yes, but today is Count Day."

Ohhhhh, that’s right.  How is the count going?

"Well, it’s going good," she replied.  "They just left to get 68 pizzas to try to convince these students to stay the full day.  They got about 18 for the morning group and they’ll probably get about another 16 for the group that takes evening classes."

The Orange Mailman shouts, "What is wrong with public education?"

Just in case you are not quite getting this, they are using your tax dollars to buy pizzas to bribe kids to stay in school for the day so they can get their official count up so that they can get a bigger share of your tax dollars.

Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

-The Orange Mailman

This entry was posted in Story from the Route. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hug a Postal Worker Day?

  1. Jim says:

    Orange–
     
    That secretary\’s name wasn\’t Frank, was it?? 🙂

  2. Darrin says:

    Now Jim, you should know better than that.  I mentioned that secretary has only been there for a couple of months.  Frank and I go waaaaaaaaayyyyyyyy back.

Leave a Reply

