Fraudulent Activity on my Credit Card

Yes, it happened to me.  I didn’t even know these people existed and here they are calling me on a Sunday afternoon.
 
I’m from the Fraud Department.  We want to verify some recent activity on your credit card account.  Did you charge $3.80 on Friday?
 
How do I know you are who you say you are?
 
You can hang up and call the 1-800 number on the back of your credit card.
 
Well, why are you calling me on a Sunday afternoon?  Why wouldn’t you call during regular office hours?
 
If there is unauthorized activity on your card, we want to take care of it as soon as possible.
 
Why would you be asking about a small amount of money?  Why wouldn’t you just investigate large amounts of money?
 
Many times those who are illegally using your credit card will charge a very small amount first to see if they can get away with it.  Then once they know they can use it, then they will charge larger amounts of money.
 
What was your name again?  Why would I discuss my credit card with you?
 
If you like, you may call the 1-800 number and they will verify who I am.
 
Yes, I charged that $3.80 on Friday.
 
How about this charge for $56.00 on Friday?
 
Yes, I charged that as well.
 
How about a charge for 14 cents in Springfield Illinois?
 
14 cents?
 
Yes.
 
When?
 
This morning.
 
Uhhhh, no.  No.  No, I didn’t charge that.
 
Do you have the card in your possession?
 
Yes, I do.
 
I will tell you some additional information about this 14 cent charge.  It was manually keyed in, so someone most likely got ahold of your credit card number.  This popped up on an alert because it was such a small amount and because it was manually keyed in.  Someone is most likely testing it with a small amount to see if they can use it.  They probably will try larger amounts next time.  We will shut your account down in order to assure that there will be no further activity on your account.
 
Thank you.  Thank you very much.
 
As much as I quizzed this lady about her identity, she never lost her cool.  The reason why is that she was exactly who she claimed to be and not an imposter.  She had no fear from any test that I would throw at her because she was the genuine article.
 
It is the same way with spiritual things.  God commands us to test the spirits to see whether they are of God or not, I John 4:1-3.   The Holy Spirit has nothing to fear from a test.  He knows He will pass the test.  It is false spirits who do not want you to test them because they know they will not pass the tests when we measure them up to scripture.
 
We all get excited about things.  But we need to stop and test the emotions we have, the thoughts we are thinking, and the very things we are doing to see if they measure up with scripture.
 
Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13
 
-The Orange Mailman
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

