If you don’t use it, You lose it.

This one is for you, N8.
 
This past summer when I started riding my bicycle to work I got some strange looks and some strange comments from some people.  For those of you who don’t know, the walking on my route has me walking about 10 1/2 miles per day.  I live about 9 miles from the Post Office that I work out of.  So on a day when I would ride my bike to work, I would walk 10 1/2 miles that day along with bicycling 18 miles.  One fellow rhetorically said, "What, you don’t get enough exercise on your route, now you have to bike back and forth too?"  My response to different people making a variety of comments was, "Hey, if you don’t use it, you lose it."
 
What I meant by saying that is a principle that is at work in the realm of bodily exercise.  The more you exercise, the more energy you have.  It would seem like it works the opposite way, but it doesn’t.  When you spend more energy, your body produces more energy.  The more stress your muscles go through, the more your body builds them up, but even stronger.  This past summer, I felt great.  I slept hard at night, too.
 
Some people don’t exercise because they think they don’t have the energy.  I say, people don’t have the energy because they don’t exercise.  You have to decide to do it, and then follow through, plain and simple.  Eating right is important as well.  Since I read "The Anti-Inflammation Zone" by Dr. Barry Sears at the recommendation of my doctor, I’ve been eating what I know now to be a balanced diet.  When you are getting enough exercise, you sleep deeper causing you to be more refreshed when you wake up.
 
If you don’t use it, you lose it.  The more you spend, the more you have.  This principle is not only at work in the realm of physical exercise, it also applies to spiritual exercise as well.  God has given each of us the capacity to exercise spiritually.  Some spiritual exercises are praying, reading-studying-memorizing the Word of God, and fellowship.  There are others, but those are what I call, The Big Three.  The more you exercise spiritually, the more spiritual energy and resolve you will have to do it more. 
 
Some people don’t read the Bible because they don’t understand it.  I say, people don’t understand the Bible because they don’t read, study, and memorize it.  Some people don’t pray because they don’t know what to say to God.  I say people don’t know what to say to God because they don’t pray.  Some people don’t fellowship with other Christians because they don’t have anything in common with them.  I say people don’t have anything in common with other Christians because they don’t fellowship with them.  You have to decide to do it, and then follow through, plain and simple. 
 
Jesus told a parable in Luke 19:11-27 because people thought the Kingdom of God would immediately appear.  Jesus talked about a nobleman going to a far country who wouldn’t be back for an extended period of time.  He called ten servants giving them some money, each receiving one pound or mina; the words are interchangeable.  Some of the servants invested what they had to serve their master.  Some did nothing with what they had been given by their master.  One servants mina had gained ten minas beside what had been entrusted to him.
 
The one who did nothing with their mina had his mina taken away and given to the one who had earned ten with his mina.  Because he didn’t use what he had, he lost it.  And why wouldn’t the master take it away?  The servant had shown he wasn’t a servant at all, but a freeloader.  The master was wise to give it to the one who had shown the most profit with his efforts.  Now I’d like to comment on verse 25 where the others comment "Lord, he hath ten pounds."  I had always thought that as the master was giving the mina to the one who had gained ten pounds that those standing by were saying something like, "But Lord, he already has ten pounds."  But now I see the context of the Lord looking around and thinking about who he should give the mina to, and these other servants realize what a worthy steward he has been and say something like, "Look Lord, he gained ten pounds with his mina, if you give it to him, it will certainly be put to use."
 
If you don’t use it, you lose it.  The more you spend, the more you have.  It’s a crazy reverse type principle at work in the physical realm, and according to scripture, it’s at work in the spiritual realm as well.  If you don’t use your spiritual gifts, you will lose them.  If you use your spiritual gifts, you will gain even more.
 
Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13  (Hey, that’s my verse at work in this post!)
 
-The Orange Mailman
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

