Ezekiel 38-39

I’ll most likely be doing about four or five posts on this subject.  Just some preliminaries first.  Firstly, I’ve never read anyone who has agreed with my view on these passages.  If you read of someone with the same view as me, please contact me.  Secondly, for the life of me, I can’t understand why the Pre-Trib crowd reads a nuclear holocaust before Daniel’s seventieth week into the passage.  It’s not essential to the Pre-Trib view.  Thirdly, I’ve got some questions that have never been answered.
 
My view in a nutshell.  Ezekiel 38-39 describe an invasion on Israel from a coalition of nations that will culminate at Armageddon.  Part of the armies will be turned around only to return "after many days", a phrase which describes the millennium.  The section of 38:8-23 describes this Post-Millennial attack which is also explained in Revelation 20:7-9 as being after the thousand years.  When Ezekiel begins to prophesy again in chapter 39, he again turns back to the language which leads up to Armageddon.  This Pre-Millennial event shows how the portion of the army which does not get turned around actually falls upon the mountains of Israel with language that clearly can be identified with the battle of Armageddon, compare 39:17-20 with Revelation 19:17-21.
 
The part of my view that I have never seen anywhere else, is to see a combination of both Post-Millennial and Pre-Millennial in the same passage.  When reading the older Historical Pre-Millennial crowd, I see that they place both chapters as being Post-Millennial in accordance with Revelation 20:7-9.  They identified Gog and Magog of Ezekiel as being the same Gog and Magog of Revelation.
 
Most of the contemporary crowd does not see anything Post-Millennial about this event at all.  There are a variety of views, but from my debates, the Pre-Tribbers see both chapters as leading up to the events of Daniel’s seventieth week, with the seven year period of cleansing mentioned in 39:9 as being the seven year period known as Daniel’s seventieth week.  Most Post-Tribbers and Pre-Wrathers see instead that this is language that identifies itself with the day of the LORD, the battle of Armageddon, and the time when Israel will come to know LORD; hence the identification with events very near the end of Daniel’s seventieth week.
 
Since there are many aspects of these two chapters that have been presented to me, I can’t put it all into one post.  Hopefully, one at a time, I’ll present this in bite sized chunks.
 
Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13
 
-The Orange Mailman
This entry was posted in Eschatology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

