The Secret Of Victory Over Sin

Here are some clips from Born Crucified, from the chapter entitled "The Secret Of Victory Over Sin".
 
THESE DAYS OF WAR remind us afresh of the man who reported to his commanding officer, "Ihave taken a prisoner." His commander said, "Bring him along with you." "He won’t come," complained the soldier. "Well, then, come yourself," replied the officer. "I can’t. He won’t let me," was the final acknowledgment. I fear there is a great deal of Christian victory that is no deeper than that. All Christians have indeed been freed from the penalty of sin. But what about sin’s power? 

Is the reader one of those souls who has discovered that, whereas you thought you had taken a prisoner captive, you find yourself a slave, a veritable victim of self and indwelling sin? You find yourself double-minded and unstable in all your ways? You cry with Paul: "The good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do."  When you "would" take sin a prisoner, bring him along, lock him up, and let him have no liberty, you find that you are actually the captive. Sin and self are in virtual control of the entire sweep of your life.  Regardless of our feelings, we are to reckon on this great fact, –of our union with Christ in death and resurrection. "Reckon ye also yourselves to be dead unto sin, but alive unto God in Christ Jesus" (Rom. 6:11, R.V.). Note that Paul does not say, reckon sin dead to you. God’s way of victory over sin is not through the suppression of sinful desires, nor through the eradication of the old nature, nor yet through the cleansing of inbred sin. God’s way of victory is through crucifixion– deliverance is only through death. 

Let me do as the two young women who replied to an invitation to attend a hall: ‘We are very sorry, but it will be impossible for us to attend. We died last week. We are Christians."  They had declared their testimony in baptism the previous week, as dead, buried, risen, and henceforth Christ-ones only.

It is said that Emperor William refused request for an audience prepared by a German-American.  The Emperor declared that Germans born in Germany but naturalized in America became Americans: "I know Americans; I know Germans; but German-Americans I do not know." Even so, I was once bound in Adam. I am now freed in Christ. The cross cut me off, killed me outright to the old citizenship and life. I am no Adam-Christ believer. Such a position will get me no audience with my King, bring me no deliverance from bondage to the old man. Let me cease at once any such unholy duplicity. Let me declare that I am Christ’s and His alone. Let me yield fully unto Him as one "dead indeed unto sin, but alive unto God through Jesus Christ our Lord" (Rom. 6:11).

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

