Is it cheating?

On my route, I have this customer who loves to garden.  He has some really beautiful flowers.  I’m not good with names of flowers so I’ll just say they are all different colors and styles.    A couple of years back he mentioned to me that I was welcome to come and pick a nice arrangement of flowers from his garden if I ever wanted to.  I responded that it was nice of him to offer, but I never got around to stopping over there.
 
After my wife’s surgery and infection, I wanted to get her some flowers to cheer her up, but with many medical bills coming in I was reticent to spend the money on a nice arrangement.  I remembered the customer on my route, took a vase with me to work, then after work stopped and cut some flowers out of his flower garden, and they were beatiful.  That was back in July, I think.  Then just last week, he came out and invited me to come to his garden again sometime since there were quite a few out there.  So on Tuesday I took the vase with me to work again and stopped and got another beatiful arrangement of flowers.
 
My wife made a comment to the effect that I was simply swiping flowers from an old man’s garden.  I know she appreciated the thought, but this brings up a question.  Ladies, is it cheating if we don’t buy the flowers from a professional florist?  Do we get full credit if we pick flowers out of someone’s flower garden or wildflowers from the woods?  Which shows love and appreciation for a wife more, hand-picking select flowers out of a garden and arranging them yourself in a vase, or going to the florist and trying to pick out a prearranged bouquet?
 
Many thanks to all the folks in the world who are like this customer on my route.  He let me walk back there by myself and just take whatever I wanted.  He said that if someone didn’t pick them that they wouldn’t do a whole lot of good just sitting there in his garden.  How selfless!
 
Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13
 
-The Orange Mailman
This entry was posted in Story from the Route. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is it cheating?

  1. Unknown says:

    No, it\’s not cheating! It\’s better and more thoughtful, even if the woman says it\’s not. :o)

  2. Michelle says:

    They were dahlias with some daisies tossed in, I think.
     
    I appreciated the thought, for sure. And I was kidding you when I said you were swiping flowers.
     
    I\’m going to go out on a limb here and say that those flowers meant more to me than dozens of roses because YOU thought of ME and picked them for ME with YOUR own hands.
     
    I\’ll call it DOUBLE credit. 🙂
     
    I love you, honey. MWAH!

Leave a Reply

