The Ultimate in Bear Hunting

Ladies and Gentlemen, Boys and Girls, and all you Dave Bussard Wannabe’s-
 
It is with great pleasure that I give you a link to a video which I have been dying to share for the past year and a half.  My cousin, the big game hunter from Alaska, told me of a quest that he had been on for three years.  It took him over a dozen attempts but he finally completed one of the ultimate quests in bear hunting.  He brought a healthy black bear within six inches of his 9MM barrel before shooting it between the eyes.
 
My cousin is a bit wild.  He has two other goals.  #1- Do the exact same thing with a grizzly bear.  #2-  Wait inside a bear’s den with a gun and camera and shoot the bear inside its own den capturing it on film.  It told my cousin that I’d like for him to put out about one video per year.  This video was back in June of 2006 so he’s a little behind.
 
As you watch the video, note that my uncle (my cousin’s dad), is in a bear stand in a tree with a partner of his, filming the episode from above.  My cousin is on the ground out of sight (on the left side of the screen) behind a blind with a gun waiting for the bear to come close enough to drop it at close range.  It is a bit suspenseful to watch it the first time.  If you don’t want to see a bear getting killed, don’t follow this link.  I’ll stop rambling and post the link.
 
 
I’ve had the video on CD for over a year now.  My cousin told me I could watch it, and let other people watch it, but not to loan it out or make copies because they were trying to sell it to a hunting company.  But he just sent me a link where he has it posted on YouTube.  So it must be okay.  On the original video, there was a failed attempt which lasted about a minute and a half.  My cousin only posted the successful portion of the video.  The beginning was fun to watch as well, so I guess I’m privileged.  My cousin’s ID is listed as ironEkinsey and the video is labeled Sneak Attack.  So now you know the background of the story as well as being able to watch one of the best hunting videos on the web.  Enjoy.
 
Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13
 
-The Orange Mailman
 
P.S.  My cousin is definitely having a blast.
This entry was posted in Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Ultimate in Bear Hunting

  1. Carmen says:

    Who wants to be ME? I must be your only reader! 🙂 That was a fun video, but I think I will stick to a little safer hunting. 3 of us just got 6 whitetail this weekend. At one time we had 18-20 right in front of us. This won\’t impress your cousin, but I had fun!  http://theyrebitin.blogspot.com/Dave B

  2. Darrin says:

    99 views and counting everybody.  The video is making its way around the internet.  Of course, 37 of those views were by me.
     
    Dave B.-
     
    There are actually two other people who have publickly confessed to reading my blog on a regular basis.  Neither of them has said that they want to be like you, though.  That would be me.
     
    Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13
     
    -The Orange Mailman

  3. Carmen says:

    By the way, do you ever spend any time over at Herb\’s forum anymore? And if so, what\’s your screen name?Dave B

  4. Darrin says:

    No, I haven\’t posted there since 2005.  When they switched it all over to a new system, I never even set up a new screen name.  So if I wanted to start I would have to start from scratch.  Is it still a pretty good place to debate the issues?
     
    -Darrin

  5. Carmen says:

    Yes, it\’s pretty good. There will always be things that are irritating, but that\’s unavoidable. For the most part I would say it\’s a good debate forum. Especially considering the fact that they have specific rooms for specific debates like "pre-trib only," or "pre-wrath only," etc. And of course there\’s the anything goes area. Dave B

Leave a Reply

