What did the OT writers know?

Every once in a while I come across a blog post that is a bit of a gem.  The subject that Jason Button at TheoSource was posting on is the knowledge that Old Testament writers had as they prophesied of the future.  I have maintained for some time based on Acts 2:25, 30 that they knew many things that we think they were ignorant of just because we fail to give ourselves to study of the OT.  However, we stand in a superior place than they did based on I Peter 1:10-12 and II Peter 1:19-21, but strictly built upon the foundation of what they saw and understood.  Once in a while I hear someone say, "The OT prophets didn’t know what they were writing about."  My silent response is, "I don’t think YOU know what the OT prophets wrote about."
 
It didn’t come as any surprise that the post was birthed out of a struggle to find mediation between Dispensationalism and Covenant Theology.  This blogger quotes Eugene Merrill and Walter Kaiser for the majority of his post.  It is a very well thought out balance that is struck, although I don’t know if I completely agree with it yet.  I’ll probably read it again after a couple of days.
 
 
Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13
 
-The Orange Mailman
This entry was posted in Bible. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

