Back to the Beginning

Long before prophecy became such an integral part of my Bible studies, I was consumed with a passion to discover the beginning for myself.  My heart was drawn toward Genesis, specifically the first four chapters, in an effort to understand the beginning of all existence as we know it.  After all, I couldn’t understand the New Testament without knowing the Old Testament.  I couldn’t understand the prophets and their messages to Israel without understanding Israel’s genesis and exodus.  I couldn’t understand Israel without understanding Abraham.  I couldn’t understand Abraham or anything else in this crazy world without understanding creation and what originally transpired between Our Creator and His creation at the beginning.  Basically, in order to build a house, you need a foundation.  In order to have a theology, you need to have a beginning.  Where does one start?  At the beginning.

 

I found myself drawn toward the promise that God made in Genesis 3:15 regarding the seed.  All those years ago, (let me think…  11 years?) I dubbed it the seed-promise since I didn’t know what else to call it.  I didn’t realize some people had a fancy name for it like protoevangelium.  I realized that the outworking of that promise could be found in a straight forward reading of the Bible.  Jesus Christ is the ultimate fulfillment of that promise, but there were many steps to get to that place.  I found that at every step along the path of the lineage from Adam to Jesus Christ, the progressive unfolding of that plan was manifested.

 

This series will focus on the first four chapters of the Bible in their original context.  We know so much more than Adam did.  We must try not to insert what we know back into his limited knowledge.  But I think we give Adam less credit than he actually deserves.  There are many insights that go unnoticed simply because we haven’t taken the time to put ourselves in the position of Adam (or Eve if you are a woman).  I think we can confirm our discoveries with what we know from our vantage point.  If we are coming to conclusions from studying the beginning, we can confirm it with teachings from other portions of scripture.  There is nothing wrong with that.

 

What I will try to focus on is the point of view that Adam and Eve had.  What did God’s Word (spoken word) mean to them?  What did they think of the future?  Did they have correct knowledge, incorrect knowledge, imperfect knowledge, or incomplete knowledge?

 

Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

 

-The Orange Mailman

This entry was posted in Bible. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

