The Death of the Religious Right

I wonder if readers of my blog have noticed that I very rarely post on matters of politics.  There are a couple of reasons why.  #1 is that I don’t want to be identified with any political party or system since they are all worldly in some way or another.  They are slated for destruction.  #2 is that I don’t want to be misunderstood.  If I start spouting about this issue or that issue, it will be taken out of context by someone.  #3 is that there is hardly anybody out there that I agree with.  Except for Cal Thomas.  On the rare occasion that my newspaper runs an article by him, I find myself asking, "Why isn’t everybody else seeing the same things that Cal Thomas and I are seeing?" 
 
To show you what I mean, I’m going to link to one of his latest news articles and quote a couple clips from it.  I’d like to post the entire thing, but I don’t want to get the pants sued off me, which would be problematic since my pants really belong to the government.  (Mailman joke, sorry.)  Here’s a link to the article entitled RELIGIOUS RIGHT R.I.P.
 
 
Here are a couple of clips which I totally agree with.
 
Social movements that relied mainly on political power to enforce a conservative moral code weren’t anywhere near as successful as those that focused on changing hearts. The four religious revivals, from the First Great Awakening in the 1730s and 1740s to the Fourth Great Awakening in the late 1960s and early ’70s, which touched America and instantly transformed millions of Americans (and American culture as a result), are testimony to that.
 
Does the secular left, when it holds power, persuade conservatives to live by their standards? Of course they do not. Why, then, would conservative Evangelicals expect people who do not share their worldview and view of God to accept their beliefs when they control government?
 
If results are what conservative Evangelicals want, they already have a model. It is contained in the life and commands of Jesus of Nazareth. Suppose millions of conservative Evangelicals engaged in an old and proven type of radical behavior. Suppose they followed the admonition of Jesus to “love your enemies, pray for those who persecute you, feed the hungry, clothe the naked, visit those in prison and care for widows and orphans,” not as ends, as so many liberals do by using government, but as a means of demonstrating God’s love for the whole person in order that people might seek Him?
 
Scripture teaches that God’s power (if that is what conservative Evangelicals want and not their puny attempts at grabbing earthly power) is made perfect in weakness. He speaks of the tiny mustard seed, the seemingly worthless widow’s mite, of taking the last place at the table and the humbling of one’s self, the washing of feet and similar acts and attitudes; the still, small voice. How did conservative Evangelicals miss this and instead settle for a lesser power, which in reality is no power at all? When did they settle for an inferior “kingdom”?
 
Do you see what I mean?  What power there would be in simply living out the message of the Kingdom of God that Jesus proclaimed while He was here!  Why would we try to focus on the kingdoms of this world to try to accomplish an inferior agenda?  I would encourage readers to follow the link to read the entire article and give a hearty Amen to Cal Thomas for writing so distinctively.
 
Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13
 
-The Orange Mailman
This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Death of the Religious Right

  1. pjmiller says:

    Hi Orange…I receive notice of your posts in my feeds, so when seeing this newest post was concerning Cal Thomas\’ commentary, had to check it out! Personally, i think its one of the finest commentaries i\’ve read, \’post election\’. He expressed beautifully what i stumble poorly in trying to express at my blog: that being you cannot legislate biblical morality nor expect \’real change\’ without hearts being changed. Only Christ and the Gospel can bring that about…Cal did a great job in explaining how we, Christian conservatives, have failed to see that truth. He got slammed on some of the more popular discernment websites for this commentary. Did you know that? They continue to insist we can \’change the nation\’ through man\’s government.Anyway, God bless! It was nice to see someone i deeply respect, you, also saw truth in Cal Thomas\’ wise words.  

  2. Darrin says:

    Hey PJ-
     
    No I did not realize that many were unfavorable towards Cal\’s point of view.  I have always enjoyed his articles, but never realized he had detractors.  I guess I shouldn\’t be surprised though.  So many have the viewpoint that getting involved in politics is the way to change the world.  Jesus had/has a different plan though.
     
    Thanks for the good words.  I truly appreciate them.
     
    Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13
     
    -The Orange Mailman

Leave a Reply

