Holiday Fun

Aren’t the holidays wonderful?  We had many family gatherings with some that we only see a handful of times per year, and some only on Christmas.  Yet the weather was not very cooperative.  There have been blizzard conditions here in Michigan on several occasions.  For those who live in other parts of the world, you have to understand the term “lake effect” to understand Michigan winters.  It’s not really something you can understand by way of reading about it.  You really have to live it to fully comprehend it.

 

This past Sunday, we left one family member’s home to travel to my dad’s early in the morning to find that a blizzard had just started.  My wife was driving and the weather made her extremely nervous.  We were on the interstate less than one minute when our vehicle slid into the median, which was pretty much a ditch.  As we realized the van was stuck and could not get out, I read Psalm 20 out loud to my wife.  I will post Psalm 20 with my thoughts that I was thinking at the time interspersed.  Psalm 20 is an interesting psalm to read if you want something from God.  At that point in time, I wanted to get out of the ditch.

 

1 To the Chief Musician. A Psalm of David. May the Lord answer you in the day of trouble;

 

We certainly are in trouble.  We are here in a ditch with no way to get out.

 

May the name of the God of Jacob defend you; 2 May He send you help from the sanctuary,

 

I hope he sends help from heaven in the form of a tow truck.

 

And strengthen you out of Zion;

 

Encourage my wife right now because she is very upset.

 

3 May He remember all your offerings, And accept your burnt sacrifice. Selah

 

I hope the LORD remembers that we have been faithful to Him.  Haven’t I been faithful?

 

4 May He grant you according to your heart’s desire,

 

My heart’s desire right now is to arrive safely at my dad’s house and to be able to celebrate Christmas with the rest of my family.  After that, I’d like to safely travel to my home and sleep in my own bed tonight.

 

And fulfill all your purpose.

 

I hope God has a purpose for me after getting out of the ditch.

 

5 We will rejoice in your salvation,

 

Praise the LORD no matter what happens here, my eternal destiny is settled.  God has demonstrated His love for me.  We are children of God.  It is well with my soul.

 

And in the name of our God we will set up our banners! May the Lord fulfill all your petitions.

 

All of my petitions?  I can think of a lot of prayers that God hasn’t answered.  He certainly doesn’t have to answer my prayer to get out of this ditch.  But it sure would be nice of Him, wouldn’t it?

 

6 Now I know that the Lord saves His anointed;

 

I hope I will be able to say shortly that God brought us through this entire trial with no scratches.

 

He will answer him from His holy heaven With the saving strength of His right hand.

 

God, you are in heaven, please send someone to help here on earth.

 

 7 Some trust in chariots, and some in horses; But we will remember the name of the Lord our God.

 

Some trust in tow trucks, and some trust in police officers, but we will trust in the name of the LORD our God.  If a tow truck comes and pulls us out, we will attribute the help to God, even though human agency assisted us.

 

8 They have bowed down and fallen; But we have risen and stand upright. 9 Save, Lord! May the King answer us when we call.

 

Save us LORD.  We’d like to get out of the ditch.  Please answer us because we are calling on you.  I’d like to be able to say that we were stuck in a ditch, but we got out safely and are on our way.

 

We used a cell phone to call someone who called a tow truck.  A police officer saw us and stopped to wait until the tow truck came to pull us out.  He sat behind with his flashers on until we were well on our way.  The tow truck driver had a quirky sense of humor like me.  I asked, “How are you doing?”  He said, “Better than you.  I’m not in that van.”  After we got out, I drove the rest of the way.  Although conditions were horrendous (icy, snowy, slushy, you-name-it) at times, we arrived safely at my dad’s house.  The road conditions from my dad’s to our home were much better being in a more southern part of the state.  The blizzard had been worse toward northern Michigan.

 

Holiday fun.  Isn’t it great?  It is great when the LORD answers prayer.

 

Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

 

-The Orange Mailman

This entry was posted in Bible. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

