Pets and the Rapture

I really do love dogs.  Even though I’m a mailman and have to deal with mean dogs on a regular basis, I still love them.  Over the years I’ve gotten more than one dog off from a route that I was doing at the time.  My dog Silk was the best though.  I still miss him.  I thought getting pets off from my routes was a thing of the past, but guess what?  We just got another one.

 

On my first day back from vacation, there was a pit bull lying on the steps of a house.  I knew the dog didn’t belong there because this guy only has one dog, it’s always inside the fence, and its name is Spirit-Wolf.  (I think the owner is a left over from the hippie generation.)  So I called to the owner from outside the house.  He came out and yelled at the dog to go away.  He told me that this dog had been in the neighborhood for about 4 months, that no one knew who it belonged to, and that animal control would not respond to calls to come and get it.  Or should I say get HER. 

 

After talking with this customer, I found out that the dog had recently had puppies, most likely by his dog, that her milk had went bad, and that he was personally hand-feeding the puppies.  But he wanted nothing to do with the mother.  He told me that this pit bull was extremely friendly.  When I looked at her I could see her ribs.  She was slowly starving to death.

 

So that night I told my wife about the situation.  We went there, talked to this customer on my route, and called to the dog to see if she would come to us.  She did and we have been caring for her.  The vet said she had to gain 15 lbs. just to be healthy.  She’s gained 10 in the last 2 weeks.  My wife and I couldn’t agree on a name at first, but then she said she had a great name.  Apparently somebody gave her a fiction book with an end times scenario that has a character named Shiloh in it.  I haven’t read the book, but my wife said the name has some kind of special meaning.  So we now have a pit bull named Shiloh.

 

Because I believe there will be a rapture, I wonder what will happen to my pets (2 dogs and 2 cats) after the rapture.  Others are obviously wondering what will happen to their pets as well.  Someone has started a business to care for pets for raptured owners.  For a mere $110.00, Eternal Earth-Bound Pets, USA will care for your pets after the rapture, with an added fee of $15.00 for each additional pet.  What if these people go up in the rapture you ask?  Fear not, each person is a devoted atheist guaranteed to remain behind following the rapture.

 

At first I thought this website was satire, but upon examination, it appears that some people are making a lot of money off Christians who believe in a pre-trib rapture.  You see, if the rapture is something that could happen at any time with no warning signs, then people could get scared about their pets.  However, if we believe what the Bible states, that the rapture will occur with the day of the LORD and that no Christian will be caught unaware (see I Thess. 4:13-5:11), then Christians should understand that there will be time to prepare for things like this.  By the time the rapture happens just before the Day of the LORD, the abomination of desolation will have occurred, followed by the great tribulation wherein many Christians will willingly die for their faith.  For those Christians who are alive and remain having survived the great tribulation, yes they will be raptured.  So once you see that abomination of desolation, maybe then would be a good time to get in touch with Eternal Earth-Bound Pets, USA, but not until then.

 

Check out the website here and try not to laugh.  Some people are trying to make a living during this economic downturn.  It’s for their livelihood. 

 

Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

 

-The Orange Mailman

This entry was posted in Story from the Route. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pets and the Rapture

  1. Kathy says:

    Unbelievable…there are no words…no words…(I tried not to laugh, really I did…)

  2. Kristen says:

    You need to read the book…on second thought, don\’t read the book…and Shiloh is a place, not a character…details…

  3. Darrin says:

    My wife just corrected me before I read these comments. Shiloh is indeed a place, not a person, but it is also our dog. I guess that would make more sense because in the Bible it is place as well. I hope you didn\’t make THAT face again. My wife approves of this comment. No pit bulls were harmed during the making of this blog entry.

Leave a Reply

