Poor Wayfaring Stranger on 9/11

Poor Wayfaring Stranger

 

Today on the eight year anniversary of 9/11, I did not have to remind postal management to give an announcement for a moment of silence.  About three or four years back, none of the supervisors knew anything about it.  I asked my supervisor if they were going to announce the moment of silence since we are a federal institution.  He said he didn’t know.  They wound up getting someone to announce it though.

 

This year, some are using this occasion to fret, some to pray, some to advance political agendas, some to over dramatize the past, present, and future, some to reflect, and some even to hate.  Today, I have been reminding myself that there is sorrow in this world.  I realize that

I am a poor wayfaring stranger
While traveling through this world below
There is no sickness, toil, or danger
In that bright world to which I go

I know dark clouds will gather o’er me
I know the pathway’s rough and steep
But golden fields lie out before me
Where weary eyes no more shall weep

I’m going there to see my Father
I’m going there no more to roam
I am just going over Jordan
I am going over home

I’ll soon be free from every trial
This form will rest beneath the sod
I’ll drop the cross of self-denial
And enter in my home with God

I’m going there to see my Savior
Who shed for me His precious blood
I am just going over Jordan
I am just going over home
I am just going over home

 

Selah’s version of this is simply powerful.

 

Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

 

-The Orange Mailman

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

