Shiloh Love

The holiday craziness has subsided.  Blogging is a privilege, not a necessity.  So if I get busy, no blogs for my readers.  No apologies either.  I have to work, and when the snow flies, it takes more time.  But I think I’ll have some more free time now that the holidays are past.

 

Another big thing is that we found a home for Shiloh.  Shiloh is a pit bull that I got off my route.  She was starving and full of infection.  We nursed her back to health and then began trying to find a home for her.  I had two different families tell me that they wanted her and would take her.  I told them that I felt comfortable giving Shiloh to them, but they would have to get a dog license for her first.  Neither family followed through.

 

So when I placed an advertisement in our local paper, I decided to do something a little different.  The ad in the paper was worded quite simple.  Free pit bull.  Call xxx-xxxx for info.  I changed the voice mail message on my cell phone to include much information about Shiloh.  I then closed the message with this, “if after meeting the dog you want to take her, I will require you to get a dog license for her before I turn her over to you.”  When my phone started ringing with strange numbers that I didn’t recognize on the caller ID, I let my voice mail answer them.  While the phone rang many times, hardly anybody left a message.  Then finally, one couple left a message, but they live in an apartment building.  I didn’t think that would be a good fit for Shiloh.  Then another fellow told me to call him.  We talked briefly, but he didn’t call back.

 

Then, on the day after the ad stopped running, another fellow left a message and was intrigued by the information about her being a rescued dog.  His message was like, “I really got to see this dog because the dog we just lost was a rescued dog.”  The next day, we took Shiloh to meet him, his wife, and their two dogs.  The day after that, he came to my house with a dog license in hand and drove away with Shiloh, or should I now say, Ginger.  I hope it works out because one of their dogs is a Jack Russell mix and they are quite hyper.  There was some definite tension to be worked out between the two of them.  Shil… er… Ginger’s new owners seem quite committed to making it work.

 

 So it is quite peaceful here tonight.  We still have our black lab, Jett.  We still have two cats.  But Shiloh was a bit of work.  I explained all of this to the new owners, but they seem to have a love for her that I can’t quite understand.  I told them if it doesn’t work out, that we would gladly take her back.  Hopefully it works out, though.

 

So, faithful readers, I’ll try to get the rest of my study in Jeremiah up and ready and be a bit more regular in providing some reading material for the prophecy student.

 

Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

 

-The Orange Mailman

(who occasionally takes in a stray off his route)

This entry was posted in Story from the Route. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shiloh Love

  1. Michelle says:

    I\’m missing our Shiloh girl (I REFUSE to call her Ginger!), but I\’m really enjoying the peace & quiet. And our Jett is such a good boy…he\’s really been so wonderfully tolerant throughout this whole process. I\’m interested to see what Orange brings home next. 🙂 :X

Leave a Reply

