Coop’s view of “The Jerusalem Discourse”

After a dialogue concerning some of the differences between Luke 21 and Matthew 24, Alan Kurschner sent me a link to an article by Charles Cooper.  The article was originally published in 1999. Coop points out the some of the differences between Luke’s Discourse and the Olivet Discourse.  I have, for some time, maintained that Luke 21 was given at a different location and different time than Matthew 24.  So I have dubbed Luke 21 “The Temple Discourse” because it was given at the temple and concerns the temple and its prophesied destruction more so than the Olivet Discourse.  Coop terms Luke 21 “The Jerusalem Discourse” because the subject matter addresses the destruction of Jerusalem more so than the Olivet Discourse addresses it.

After reading the article, it seems that the ideas that Coop was kicking around led to some of the material in the books he has published.  I see hints of his work in this article reworked in his book God’s Elect and the Great Tribulation.  That book deals primarily with Matthew 24, since the term “the great tribulation” doesn’t even appear in Luke 21.  This article deals more with reconciling Luke 21 with 70AD fulfillment.  I believe Coop does a fair job in examining near/far possibilities, the Preterist scheme, and the relationship of the destruction of the temple with the end of the age.  I would recommend prophecy students to read this article over.  You can view it at this link here.

Also, note the title of the article, Surviving the Tribulation, Fight, Flight, or Faith? The Jerusalem Discourse of Christ ~ Luke 21:5-38 by Charles Cooper.  For those of you who are unaware, Coop’s latest book has the title: Fight, Flight, or Faith? and subtitled Surviving the Great Tribulation.  You can order it at Strong Tower Publishing.  Access link here.  I haven’t read it.  Some have enjoyed it, others have simply read it.

Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

-The Orange Mailman

You can read my thoughts on the subject of Luke 21 at these articles.

Luke 21 does not contain the Olivet Discourse

Luke 21 contains a discourse at the temple

This entry was posted in Eschatology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coop’s view of “The Jerusalem Discourse”

  1. Matthew says:

    Thanks for the link to Coop\’s article. I enjoyed reading his first book "God\’s Elect and the Great Tribulation."His second book "Surviving…." I would not recommend though. While I agree with him that Faith is a necessity, he really discourages any kind of preparation or planning that could potentially help the believer, their family, or others. I wrote a review of Coop\’s book that you might find interesting at : http://handsonsurvival.com/fight-flight-or-faith.htmlAs an example of an area I disagree with coop: I believe we as believers are called to protect our families from harm. If someone breaks into our house for instance and attempts to kill our children, I believe that the believe has the obligation to protect that child (even if that may result in the death of the person trying to rape or kill our child). We are called to protect the innocent. I have other examples in my review also. I really wanted to like Coop\’s book and was very excited when I found out he had written it…. it was a let down though. He did succeed though in getting me to think much more deeply about the topic.

  2. Darrin says:

    Hey, no problem Matthew. I actually had read your review already. I haven\’t read a whole lot of positive on that book so I doubt that I will purchase it. On another note, did you read the article that Alan just posted a link to on PreWrathRapture.com? It\’s an article by Coop in which he denies there is a parallel between Daniel 2 and Daniel 7. I find this article very hard to swallow. I don\’t think Coop even represents the views of those (like myself) who believe there is a parallel accurately at all. He also doesn\’t offer any superior interpretation as to what the vision of Daniel 7 might mean. Tell me what you think.Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13-The Orange Mailman

Leave a Reply

