Praise Him! Praise Him!

Sometimes you just have to Praise Him.

1
Praise Him! praise Him! Jesus, our blessed Redeemer!
Sing, O Earth, His wonderful love proclaim!
Hail Him! hail Him! highest archangels in glory;
Strength and honor give to His holy Name!
Like a shepherd, Jesus will guard His children,
In His arms He carries them all day long:

Refrain
Praise Him! Praise Him! Tell of His excellent greatness.
Praise Him! Praise Him! Ever in joyful song!

2
Praise Him! Praise Him! Jesus, our blessed Redeemer!
For our sins He suffered, and bled, and died.
He our Rock, our hope of eternal salvation,
Hail Him! hail Him! Jesus the Crucified.
Sound His praises! Jesus who bore our sorrows,
Love unbounded, wonderful, deep and strong.

3
Praise Him! Praise Him! Jesus, our blessed Redeemer!
Heavenly portals loud with hosannas ring!
Jesus, Savior, reigneth forever and ever.
Crown Him! Crown Him! Prophet, and Priest, and King!
Christ is coming! over the world victorious,
Power and glory unto the Lord belong.

I love this hymn by Fanny Crosby. It’s such an upbeat hymn I don’t think it will ever go out of style, no matter what contemporary Christian radio chooses to play or not. One reason I love this hymn is because it displays her knowledge of the scriptures. She understood the three anointed offices of the Messiah and placed them in this hymn. Crown Him Crown Him Prophet and Priest and King. I love it!

On another note, what if Fanny Crosby had not been born blind? Would we have been blessed with so many wonderful hymns from her? What if she had the same disadvantage as the rest of us? Yes, I write disadvantage. It’s a disadvantage for us because our eyesight is such a huge advantage for the devil. Many times I have been distracted just because my eyes wandered. If Fanny Crosby had eyesight, the devil may have been able to keep her from focusing solely on the Savior that she might compose so many tributes to His majesty. I think Fanny would agree.

“It seemed intended by the blessed providence of God that I should be blind all my life, and I thank him for the dispensation. If perfect earthly sight were offered me tomorrow I would not accept it. I might not have sung hymns to the praise of God if I had been distracted by the beautiful and interesting things about me.”

Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

-The Orange Mailman

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Praise Him! Praise Him!

  1. Kathy says:

    Memories come flooding back into my mind with that hymn Darrin. Specifically, my grandfather, with his big booming voice, leading the flock in which I grew up. That is a great hymn and we would be much poorer, I\’m sure, if Fanny Crosby had her eyesight while on this earth…

  2. Michelle says:

    That\’s truly an amazing song by an amazingly talented woman of God.

Leave a Reply

