Psalm 122 ~ Davidic throneS

Psalm 122
 
I was glad when they said to me,
"Let us go to the house of the LORD!"
Our feet have been standing
within your gates, O Jerusalem!
 
Jerusalem – built as a city
that is bound firmly together,
to which the tribes go up,
the tribes of the LORD,
as was decreed for Israel,
to give thanks to the name of the LORD.
There thrones for judgment were set,
the thrones of the house of David.
 
Pray for the peace of Jerusalem!
"May they be secure who love you!
Peace be within your walls and security within your towers!"
For my brothers and companions’ sake
I will say, "Peace be within you!"
For the sake of the house of the LORD our God,
I will seek your good.
 

Psalm 122 stands as a reminder of how God’s plan revolves around the city of Jerusalem. There is something contained in verse 5 that jumped out at me in a new way. When David ruled from Jerusalem, there was not just one throne. There were many thrones. David knew that having godly people around him in positions of power would only strengthen his kingdom.

The chronicler goes through great lengths to document those who occupied the positions of authority within the Davidic Kingdom in I Chronicles 26-27. Military structure, financial officers, worship leaders, and security positions are all outlined there. There are even recorded those who ruled over the individual tribes of Israel in positions subservient to David’s throne.

So based on this understanding of the Davidic rule, what would it have meant for the Davidic Messiah to state to His most intimate followers, “You are those who have stayed with me in my trials, and I assign to you, as my Father assigned to me, a kingdom, that you may eat and drink at my table in my kingdom and sit on thrones judging the twelve tribes of Israel.” ? Wouldn’t this have sparked within the minds of those who knew the psalms some idea of the continuation of the Davidic rule here on earth over the twelve tribes of Israel?

Jesus taught of a future reality in which His followers would sit in positions of power within the Kingdom of God. This kingdom would be here on earth existing in an ongoing celebration whereby those who rule would eat and drink together experiencing fellowship with each other. The fact that David’s rule had this very structure should teach us concerning the continuity of the Davidic covenant. Remember that Solomon’s rule was a continuation of the Davidic covenant. Remember the statement of the queen of Sheba to Solomon regarding his kingdom.

“The report was true that I heard in my own land of your words and of your wisdom, but I did not believe the reports until I came and my own eyes had seen it. And behold, the half was not told me. Your wisdom and prosperity surpass the report that I heard. Happy are your men! Blessed be the LORD your God, who has delighted in you and set you on the throne of Israel! Because the LORD loved Israel forever, he has made you king, that you may execute justice and righteousness.”

There will be true contentedness in the kingdom of God when the Messiah rules here on earth. We will be happy with the positions that the LORD gives us within His kingdom. We will be satisfied to be His servants. As the Messiah sits on THE throne, we also will sit on thrones as He rules. Wouldn’t this also be the understanding of Revelation 20:4-6? But I suppose that’s another post.

Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

-The Orange Mailman

This entry was posted in Eschatology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

