The Eternal Nature of the Abrahamic Covenant

I’m currently reading a book titled “The Coming Millennial Kingdom” by Donald K. Campbell & Jeffrey L. Townsend.  It is subtitled “A Case for Premillennial Interpretation.”  I’m not overly excited about it.  The first chapter was spent determining what a literal reading method consists of.  I was a little disappointed because it focused on all these rules on how to read the Bible before even starting.  The Bible is a living book and many times capable of being applied and interpreted different ways.  To come up with one method of study and then limiting oneself to only that can be detrimental to one’s spiritual growth.

Chapter 2 is better though.  So far, it is an intense study of the Abrahamic Covenant.  It is very thorough and brings out many good points.  One point that struck me as relevant to my current study is the mention of the Abrahamic Covenant in I Chronicles 16:14-18 and Psalm 105:6-11.  Robert B. Chisholm, Jr., who is the author of this particular chapter, brings out two truths from these passages.  The first is the eternal nature of the Abrahamic Covenant.  The second is that I & II Chronicles are post-exilic books.  This shows that after the 70 year captivity, the Israelites viewed the Abrahamic Covenant as still being eternal.  Here is the passage:

I Chronicles 16:14-18

He is the LORD our God;

His judgments are in all the earth.

Remember his covenant forever,

The word that he commanded, for a thousand generations,

The covenant that he made with Abraham,

His sworn promise to Isaac.

Which he confirmed as a statute to Jacob,

As an everlasting covenant to Israel,

Saying, “To you I will give the land of Canaan,

As your portion for an inheritance.”

Notice the progression from the promise to Abraham, then to Isaac, then to Jacob (the man), then to Israel (the nation). This entire covenant plan of God is everlasting. The chronicler included this passage to teach the children of Israel their future history, prophetically declaring what is yet to be as the promised reality in which they were living.

The jury is still out on this book, though. I don’t know if I will wind up recommending it or not. It seems like it is written from a dispensational point of view, which doesn’t rate too high on my charts. But it is PreMillennial so it can’t be all bad. I’ll muddle my way through it somehow. I see Walter Kaiser and Darrell Bock each have contributed a chapter. I’ll pay better attention when I get to those.

Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

-The

Orange Mailman

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

