Taking the plunge

I have decided that I will be taking the plunge.  I will upgrade this blog to WordPress and see what happens.  The worst that could happen is that it won’t transfer, but I have saved all of my blog files to my computer so I will still have it all.  The best that could happen is that I will have two WordPress blogs.  In the next couple of days I will make the change.  Stay tuned.
 
Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13
 
-The Orange Mailman
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Taking the plunge

  1. Kathy says:

    Hope it works! I\’ll be very disappointed if I can\’t access your posts as a reference tool!

  2. Matthew says:

    I see you have already switched to WordPress.com

    I’ve never used WordPress.com (I host my own WordPress blogs).

    It would seem like you would be able to export all of your old posts and import them into your other blog. Then you would have x1 blog (instead of having to work at two of them). WordPress that is ‘run’ on regular servers allows the blog owner to export and import a wide variety of different blog formats. (I just did a couple the other day).
    If you need any help, just let me know.

    Matthew
    P.S. I had emailed you a while back about helping.

    • Hey Matthew-

      Nice to see you are still out here. Yeah, I’m fairly ignorant about this whole thing. I’m still up in the air on what to do now that I have two blogs that work now. I wanted to see if the transfer would actually come out well first. I have put a lot of work into this one. But the other newer one I sort of put my Orange Mailman stamp on as well. I don’t know.

      Thanks for the help offer. If I decide to consolidate I may ask for some assistance. One possibility is that this one may be The Orange Mailman, as in eschatology type stuff, while the newer one may be stuff on the ligher side (family, bizarre thoughts, etc.)

      Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

      -The Orange Mailman

      • Matthew says:

        Just let me know if I can be of any help.

        Just for your info: WordPress allows you to export all of your posts, comments, categories and tags. Then when you import the ‘export’ file, you have all of the original dates, categories, etc. (It doesn’t overwrite what you already have on the new blog so you don’t lose any content on the new blog).

        Matthew

      • Hey Matthew, I may be interested in your help. I tried to leave a comment on your message board. I left my e-mail address there. Let’s try to get in contact.

Leave a Reply

