You’re wearing that?

Hello.

Hi, how was your day at work?

Fine, uhhh, what are you wearing?

Is there something wrong with what I’m wearing?

Well, those clothes are really old.  When we got married, I bought you some very nice clothes.  Why don’t you have those on?

You’re going to pick a fight with me just as you walk in the door.  I haven’t seen you all day and the first thing you say to me is critical.  I’m not going to deal well with criticism if it’s presented in this way.

The clothes you are wearing are so greasy, torn, and nasty that it would be unhealthy to wear them for any length of time.  I can tell that your skin is having a bad reaction because you decided to wear them today.  Don’t you want to take just a couple of minutes and change your clothes?  Remember, we went shopping together and picked out some outfits that make you look so attractive.

Oh, so you don’t think I’m attractive.  Great.  First you walk through the door, don’t even ask how I might be doing today, criticize my clothes, and now you think I’m ugly.

It’s not you, it’s your old clothes.  You are beautiful, but you decided to put on some old clothes that should have been thrown away and burned.  I thought we decided you would get rid of them altogether.

There’s no harm in keeping them around to put on once in awhile.  What’s the big deal?

The big deal is that you are my wife.  When you dress in that greasy, moldy, old shirt, it reflects poorly on me.  I have provided some excellent clothes for you to wear, but you prefer these clothes fit for a bum.

Oh, so it’s all about you now.  Excuse me for making you look bad.  It’s not like we are out in public or anything.  Besides, these clothes are all I have to remind me of my family.  My father bought me this shirt I’ll have you know.  You never did like me to have a close relationship with my family.

These clothes are making you look like your father’s daughter instead of your husband’s wife.  My standard is the same whether we are here at home or out in public.  You need to dress like you care.  Right now, you are dressing like you don’t care.  Change your clothes, now.

As the bride of Christ, we the church need to continually put off the old man and put on the new man.  We must consider our former life as dead as we live out our new life in Christ.  What would a conversation between us and God look like if we viewed it as a marriage relationship?  How would we respond to God adamantly telling us that our attitudes are all wrong?  If God walked through the door and said we were still dressing like a child of the devil rather than the bride of Christ, would we try to justify it?

“It’s just the way I am.”  “I am my mother’s child you know.”  “You gotta have fun once in a while.”  “It’s not like I would behave that way in public or anything.”  These are just some of the excuses we have in keeping on the nasty, diseased clothing of the old man that we should consider nailed to the cross.  Here is the big question, though.  How do we accept correction?

Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

-The Orange Mailman

This entry was posted in Bible. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

