Windows Live set to close

Back in August of 2006, I decided to start blogging at Windows Live Spaces.  I’m not sure what I thought I was getting into, but it certainly has been an adventure.  I knew I would be frequenting the topic of end-times, but that has stayed my primary focus.  I believe it will stay that way.  Over the years, I know that a few people have begun reading my blog, and I appreciate everybody out there, silent or not so silent.

This post is a general announcement for those who have been following from the beginning.  My space address when I first started was:

http://theorangemailman.spaces.live.com/

After having multiple problems with Windows Live Spaces, I tried to get help from the online support forum, only to find out that everybody else was quite frustrated with the system.  The online support forum was no help at all.  With no end in sight, I decided to start another blog at this address here:

http://theorangemailman.wordpress.com/

I chose WordPress because #1- it’s free.  Hey, I’m cheap.  But #2- from the other blogs that I read, the ones that use WordPress are the easiest to navigate on and interact with.  I started that blog in August of 2010.  Now shortly after that, Windows announced that they were closing Windows Live Spaces (due to many problems), but were offering a free upgrade of any Windows Live Spaces Blog to a WordPress blog.  In the hopes of saving my older blog that I had started back in 2006, I decided to upgrade that one to WordPress.  That gave me two WordPress blogs.  The new address for the old blog is now:

https://theorangemailmanmyblog.wordpress.com/

Now whenever you click the old My Spaces url, it takes you directly to the second wordpress blog, even though that was my first blog.  All of my posts carried over.  The things that didn’t carry over were my pictures (that’s why you don’t see me in my orange scarf any more) and my book lists (which I sort of regret because it was a nice tool for those who want to find find some good old prophecy books.)  I have revised my list of blogroll links since my online reading habits have changed.  The best part is that it is waaaaay easier to access old posts.  There is a search feature that works really good.  When my computer crashed in January of 2010, I lost all my files.  However, everything in my blog was still there.  So I find myself using that search feature quite often looking for an old article that I wrote and it pinpoints what I am looking for every time.

Now for the official announcement.  Windows Live Spaces is officially closing as of March 16th.  Up until this point in time, all posts are redirected to the new one.  For those of you who still have the old Windows Live url saved in your favorites or your blogroll, I’m not sure what will happen after March 16th.  If you click on the link that you have and it comes up that there is no such page, that may be why.  This post contains the links for the two blogs that I currently have.  Lately I have been maintaining both in an almost identical manner.  At some point I may break off and do something different on each one, but for now I’m going to keep putting articles on both of them.  So I guess what I’m trying to say is, you may want to update your links.

Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

-The Orange Mailman

This entry was posted in Announcements. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

