Normal

It’s difficult to know exactly what someone is like over the internet.  So I guess I wasn’t completely surprised when an internet friend asked me if I was normal.  Now I realize that the screen name “The Orange Mailman” sounds a little weird.  But I must say that I am just a normal guy.  In fact, two weekends ago there was a normal Christian music festival right here in my town.  There were normal Christian bands like Mercy Me, The Newsboys, Downhere, Remedy Drive, and Bluetree.  There were normal Christian singers like Natalie Grant, Israel Houghton, Mark Schultz, and Geoff Moore.  So there I was, a normal guy enjoying normal Christian music at a normal festival.

 

I was just standing there minding my own business when along came this photographer for the concert and snapped my picture for no apparent reason.  So I wasn’t too surprised when a friend of mine said that I was on the website for pictures that were taken at the concert.  So if you like, you can view a normal picture of me at a normal Christian music festival enjoying normal Christian music.  This should prove that I’m just a normal guy.

 

View the picture here.

 

Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

 

-The Orange Mailman

This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Normal

  1. Kristen says:

    Good thing I didn\’t see this picture before last Sunday or I would have had a hard time convincing my normal husband to invite you over…then again, looks can be deceiving…and yes, Kathy…it\’s really him!

  2. Kristen says:

    Oh…and are those people behind you looking at you in amazement, singing with the concert or yawning?

  3. Kathy says:

    Darrin, I asked my normal friend if it was really you and now I have verification that it truly is…made me laugh!

  4. Darrin says:

    I post on the deep waters of prophecy and get 20 hits. Then I post a silly picture and get 70 hits. Go figure.And for the record, I don\’t know what those weirdos behind me were doing.

  5. Carmen says:

    Very normal…for a WEIRDO!

  6. Carmen says:

    For the record, my wife isn\’t calling you a weirdo. I am.

  7. Darrin says:

    Thanks Dave. Since you have just called a spade a spade, I\’ll explain the picture. My wife and I have attended the unity festival every year. One year there was a boy (probably 12-13 years old) with a very weird looking jester\’s hat on. It was similar to the one in the picture, but it had more "thingies" on top but they were much shorter.Around that time I was in charge of the Wed night kids\’ club at our church. We had skits all the time and I had lots of crazy costume stuff that I purchased which I would wear for the kids. It was pretty high energy, but I loved it. I had a few crazy hats which I would bring out from time to time.So when my friend (best friend with whom I co-directed the club at the time) saw the boy wearing the hat, he immediately thought of me and some of the costumes that I wore on Wed nights. He pointed it out to me and I immediately thought, "that hat is sooooooo cooooool". I went up to the kid and asked him if he would sell it to me. He said he couldn\’t because it was a gift.About a year later my friend went to Mackinac Island and bought me the hat which you see in the picture. I thought it was sooooo cooooool. But I really didn\’t wear it a whole lot except once or twice for the kids for a crazy skit. But then last year, I remembered what actually prompted the hat to be bought for me. I thought about that kid wearing that hat to the unity festival. I knew that I would draw a lot of stares, but I decided on the Saturday that I would wear the hat all day long. So last year that\’s what I did. For some of our friends, unity festival is a time to be a bit crazy. One of my friends has gotten a mohawk for unity fest every year. Another gets other types of crazy haircuts (he\’s a youth pastor and his wife is a hair dresser).Last year I got several comments from people saying that they really loved my hat. I got lots of stares as well. So fast forward to this year. I decided I would do the same. For Wed, Thurs, Fri, I just dressed "normal". But on Saturday I wore the hat. When I was over at the A-Stage (alternative bands), one of the members of the prayer team came up to me and asked me about my hat. Eventually, she and some other prayer team members asked if they could pray for me and lay hands on me. One of the fellows had a purple mohawk.Toward the end of the day, since Saturday is an all day thing, along comes this photographer. He raises the camera to take a picture of me. My face wrinkled up and I thought, "What in the world is he taking a picture of ME for?" I was a little perturbed when he took the picture, so that explains the look on my face. So there ya go.Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13-The Orange Mailman

  8. Carmen says:

    I completely get it. I used to take teenagers to Cornerstone festival. It started out as 2 and ended up being 22. THAT was the last time I did that! One time, at youth group (I led youth group for about 7-8 years. Not anymore) , we decided to wear our pajamas to church the next Sunday. I wore a t-shirt and Scooby boxers. Everyone knows me, so I didn\’t think a thing about it. But as I glanced to my right, a new, older couple were staring at me with a very uncomfortable look on their face. I then felt very uncomfortable and wished I had on pants. By the way, this incident has nothing to do with me not doing youth group anymore. :)Dave

Leave a Reply

